Done and done trying to be a part of the LGBTQA community

For a while now, I’ve been wondering about the LGBTQA community. With almost every article I read, I see nothing but stupidity. And I’m not here to make an argument right now, so don’t expect that. I just want to say how fed up I am with it all.

The last drop was when I got banned from the LGBT subreddit for saying that I didn’t get the hatred toward Nintendo for not including gay marriage in their newest little mii game. And I got banned for that.
Agree with me or not, I don’t think that should be a bannable offense. Especially when it’s on topic.

This is the attitude I’ve noticed. Here’s the mantra: we’re being wronged, everyone needs to agree 100%, otherwise, we’ll ban you. Only others have to have be understanding towards us.
And I’m tired of this. I’m tired of seeing this attitude everywhere I turn in this community.

So that’s it. I’m done. They don’t want discussion? Good! I’m glad for them. I hope that goes well for you.
From now on, I won’t focus specifically on these types of issues. Because the people who write about them are horrible for the most part.

About Get a Grip

Code monkey. Opinionated.

5 responses to “Done and done trying to be a part of the LGBTQA community”

  1. alexforshaw says :

    I have started to feel that community is not a word that can be used of LGBTQA people as a whole: it is too broad a category to be meaningful and encompasses many people who have nothing in common beyond not being cisgendered or not being heterosexual. Being defined by what you are not is unhelpful at best and can be negative. I prefer to focus on what I am (an autistic female programmer who happens to be trans) rather than what I am not.

  2. Rose Colored Photo says :

    I would offer up this. To try and take on the LGBTQA community as a whole in any capacity is impossible. We can speak of it in general terms, like the LGBTQ community is up in arms about X issue.

    But to write off an opportunity to meet fellow people who will understand you and what you are going through? Dont cut off your nose to spite your face.

    There are some groups that wont fit. There are some that are mean or cruel. That is people.

    Before you write us all off try smaller or more local groups. Dont give up.

  3. Candy Kowal says :

    I also noticed those people, whether LGBT or not, who have “A” personalities, tend to want to control and be in control to sensor our feelings. One great thing about all of this, is you can change the channel. I just tune those narrow minded people out of my life. I takes all kind to make the world go round and some people need that guidance and regimented comfort dictators provide.

    The LGBT community is a really a high strung mix of people who can’t agree to agree, splinter in factions, and are as diverse as fish in the ocean.

    I can only suggest, if your lucky as me, is to find a local group of like minded girls who just want to have fun dressing for an occasion and getting out to mingle, be seen, and experience the wonders of being feminine.
    That’s tough if your metropolitan area isn’t friendly or you live in a rural area.
    Sometimes it takes a shake-up of your living arrangements to find a place where you can be accepted for who you are.
    Nothing about being LGBT is easy…until society embraces diverse lifestyles, our quest to be free will continue….

    • jennaisme says :

      But I was hoping for discourse with people. Like-mindedness is great and all, but it was discourse I was looking for from that subreddit.

  4. Rachael K says :

    Being banned for an opinion sounds to me like discrimination by the same people who demand an end to discrimination from the straight / cis world. Just because I accepted being Transgender, did not mean that I suddenly gave up free thought or long held opinions. A lot I have read from the LGBT community seems to give the impression of “we want to equal, but a little bit more equal than you”. I personally believe these people do more harm than good. An a**ehole is an a**ehole whatever their gender and or sexuality. Don’t stop looking for discourse, this is what will progress peoples attitudes. Not censorship. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Candy Kowal

A person who likes to feel feminine and girly at times!

A Dose of Buckley

Angry humour from an angry man.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

SJWebster.net – Indie Comics, Art & Video Games

Life of a Swedish male to female transsexual. Follow me as i go through my transformation.

Cait

My Island in Me

Life of a Swedish male to female transsexual. Follow me as i go through my transformation.

Ashlee's Blog

Just About Lots Of Things

INTO MIND

personal style, minimalism & the perfect wardrobe

Neutrois Nonsense

an intimate exploration of identity and finding life wisdom beyond the gender binary

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

regan5

Tristen's Gender Journal

Maja Photography

World through the camera lens.

Thunderf00t

Science and Education FTW!

My Darkest Hour

My journey out of darkness and my struggle into light

Clare Flourish

Moving through the world, making myself memorable

Personal Nexus

Travel & Technology

