Trans inspiration: Jennifer Boylan

Buzzfeed released this list a few days ago: http://www.buzzfeed.com/saeedjones/100-amazing-trans-americans-you-should-know Now, i’ve hardly even begun to go down the list. But let’s start where i started.

I showed this list to Jocelyn, to see if she recognized anyone. And just like me, she didn’t recognize anyone.. Except for one person. Namely, Jennifer Boylan. She told me about how she was her hero, and how much she meant to her. So naturally, i started looking her up. Later that night, when i had listened to a few excerpts from her books, i became a fan of hers. Such an easy listen, such an outgoing, such an inspirational, and most of all! Such a lighthearted individual. She takes all the pain and suffering that us transsexuals has to deal with, and makes jokes about it. And i don’t know about the rest of you, but i find that to be very refreshing. Because you usually find transsexuals who want to play the victim card all the time, or ones who feel miserable all the time, or ones who do nothing but complain.

JenniferFinneyBoylan1

I think it’s a healthy approach. And the only approach that makes sense. Because, when all is said and done, why should you let the negative around you dictate how you act? Isn’t it a sign of a strong person, when she can just look upon those faces and say “I’m not bowing to what you want! I’m not going to be miserable because you want me to”? And that’s what i mean with an inspirational person. Someone who you can actually look up to. And not someone that news papers wants us to look up to. Someone who just vents, and someone who’s shallow. Not going to name any specific people, but i’m sure we all know at least one of those alluded “inspirational fastfood people”.

book_cover

But anyway. I’m going to order one of Jennifer Boylan’s books. One that captured my attention the most, and the one that Jocelyn said “It solidified my transgender feelings, and i just knew that i had to go through with it after reading this book” (She had a great story around it too, but i haven’t gotten a clear from her yet, so i can’t post it). It’s called “She’s not there”, and is a memoir of her pre-transition period. If the excerpts are any to go by, it’s going to be a fantastic read!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Get a Grip

Code monkey. Opinionated.

Leave a Reply

Candy Kowal

A person who likes to feel feminine and girly at times!

A Dose of Buckley

Angry humour from an angry man.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

SJWebster.net – Indie Comics, Art & Video Games

Life of a Swedish male to female transsexual. Follow me as i go through my transformation.

Cait

My Island in Me

Life of a Swedish male to female transsexual. Follow me as i go through my transformation.

Ashlee's Blog

Just About Lots Of Things

INTO MIND

personal style, minimalism & the perfect wardrobe

genderqueer.me

transgender & nonbinary resources

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

regan5

Tristen's Gender Journal

Maja Photography

World through the camera lens.

Thunderf00t

Science and Education FTW!

My Darkest Hour

My journey out of darkness and my struggle into light

Clare Flourish

Moving through the world, making myself memorable

Personal Nexus

Travel & Technology

