A happy male to female moment

I would have reblogged this, but the woman in question didn’t write it as a blog post, but rather, a reddit post. So i’m just going to link it and quote it. Hope the author won’t mind. Just thought people would be happy to read it.

When I first came out to my family, it was hard, they were conservative Catholic Christians, and it took about 3 years for them to even go back to talking to me again, the first Christmas we spent together, I wasn’t in girl mode yet, I was still only taking hormones, we all went to my parent’s home to celebrate it.

This same christmas, my brother was visiting from Brazil with his wife and his 7 year old daughter.

When it came to gift opening, everyone got really awesome gifts, between game consoles, and tvs and laptops, all I got from my family were very manly gifts that I so hated, like tuxedos and shoes (which were donated the next day to a charity for people who need them), and saw that nobody gave a crap about it despite me being super sad about it, everyone was too busy looking at their gifts, I gave my niece a wii with like 3 games and she loved it.

Anyway, night settled in, we ate our dinner, and I was still supper bummed out but hiding it well. When everyone went to do their own thing, between playing with their gifts or just talking, my niece tugged on my pants when nobody was looking and asked me to follow her quietly, I thought she was bringing me to play wii with her, but she dragged me upstairs to her room, and she asked me to close the door behind me, at this point I still have no idea what’s going on.

Right now I’m staring at her, and she turns around, she opens up this drawer, takes out a bunch of her clothes out and takes out 3 tiny boxes and hands them to me.

I open them and they’re really really cute earrings, and she tells me: “I saved up some of my lunch money and got you these earrings so you can be pretty like me one day”

I have never cried so much in my life, nowadays everything is a lot better, and my family has come to accept who I am.

EDIT: Wow, that was a lot of responses, thank you everyone, I will post a picture of the earrings when I get home 🙂

EDIT2: Here you go, a picture of the 3 earrings ( made of seashells )

Source: http://www.reddit.com/r/lgbt/comments/1acio4/6_years_and_3_months_into_mtf_transition_and_this/

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Get a Grip

Code monkey. Opinionated.

Leave a Reply

Candy Kowal

A person who likes to feel feminine and girly at times!

A Dose of Buckley

Angry humour from an angry man.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

SJWebster.net – Indie Comics, Art & Video Games

Life of a Swedish male to female transsexual. Follow me as i go through my transformation.

Cait

My Island in Me

Life of a Swedish male to female transsexual. Follow me as i go through my transformation.

Ashlee's Blog

Just About Lots Of Things

INTO MIND

personal style, minimalism & the perfect wardrobe

Neutrois Nonsense

an intimate exploration of identity and finding life wisdom beyond the gender binary

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

regan5

Tristen's Gender Journal

Maja Photography

World through the camera lens.

Thunderf00t

Science and Education FTW!

My Darkest Hour

My journey out of darkness and my struggle into light

Clare Flourish

Moving through the world, making myself memorable

Personal Nexus

Travel & Technology

