Twitter block. Everything on face value

I’ve come to realize, like a smack to the face, that I’m quite a horrible person, when it all comes down to it.
I get jealous easily, I take things on its face value far too often, I get easily annoyed and so much more.

Taking things on its face value is what spawned this post today. Someone on twitter, rightfully, got annoyed with me taking everything on its face value. To the point where he threatened to block me (more on that later). It got me thinking, and here I am.

I made a post a few days ago where I mocked a transphobe for using southpark as a source for his hatred. One of the comments I read about his hateful post was that he must have just seen one episode, and through an internal dialog with himself, he deduced that he now know everything he needs to know about transsexuals. It’s a common thing among the ignorant, simply called “argument from ignorance”.

Anyhow, I thought about that, and I realized that I’m no better. Sure, my ignorance might not be quite as bitter and broad as his, but I think that I’ve done my fair share of ignorant arguments across the years.. So I’m really no better.

The fact that even writing this post annoys me. Not because of anyone in particular, but because I can never seem to learn to stay away from the evil circle that is your own thoughts. If that makes any sense. Maybe a better explanation would be to say that it’ easy to start tredding the same ground, and not notice when you can no longer see anything else but the ground in front of you.

So I have to say sorry to myself and everyone else.
I’m also sorry that I can never seem to learn. I’m sorry for all my shortcomings. How can I hope to change as a human being, to change my gender, if I keep doing this.
So.. Jenna. Stop and look around from time to time. Its worth more than all the gold on earth.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Get a Grip

Code monkey. Opinionated.

Leave a Reply

Candy Kowal

A person who likes to feel feminine and girly at times!

A Dose of Buckley

Angry humour from an angry man.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

SJWebster.net – Indie Comics, Art & Video Games

Life of a Swedish male to female transsexual. Follow me as i go through my transformation.

Cait

My Island in Me

Life of a Swedish male to female transsexual. Follow me as i go through my transformation.

Ashlee's Blog

Just About Lots Of Things

INTO MIND

personal style, minimalism & the perfect wardrobe

genderqueer.me

transgender & nonbinary resources

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

regan5

Tristen's Gender Journal

Maja Photography

World through the camera lens.

Thunderf00t

Science and Education FTW!

My Darkest Hour

My journey out of darkness and my struggle into light

Clare Flourish

Moving through the world, making myself memorable

Personal Nexus

Travel & Technology

