Day 83: Child sex slaves and stampedes

In today’s post:
Child sex slaves & stampedes. Programming woes, over! Blog redesign

Making a music player pt2

I might stop making parts on this sub-section later. Because i’ll probably write quite a bit about it.

Anyway! I’ve finally fixed my PNG woes. I ended up using something based on directX (Which isn’t too bad) which is usually reserved for videogames, called “Allegro”. It’s slim enough, works well enough and it can handle everything i want it to handle.

I’ve written some essentials outside of the program. Such as, feature list/todo, version info and general info about the program. I quote:

Widget player is a music player designed to be open, easy to use, good looking, modable and powerful right out of the box.
It was inspired by the iOS double tap homescreen menu.
I created this player because the only music player that came close to what i needed was winamp. Even then, if i had made it a skin instead, i would not only lose out on the functionality i want, but more importantly, the open-ness. I think that being able to mod a program however you want is important, and although i might not be able to achieve that for everyone, i hope to at least make it so that the majority are satisfied.

It was made using the gcc/mingw compiler, and allegro (Which is usually used for games), and is powered by curl, IE-frame (Which could be changed later for gecko), fmod, ffmpeg and much more.

Widget player is free to use, and always will be. Aside for maybe an ad in the installer (If it comes to that) and donation, no money is involved.

Which gets me to the final part. If you liked this application to any extent, please consider a donation. Thank you.
If you have any suggestions, questions, praize or hate you want to send my way, i’m contactable through this email: littlejojoisme@gmail.com

I would like to thank you for using Widget player, and i hope you like it.

It’s really fun to make this. Tomorrow, i think i will do the rest of the theme and get the animations for the different buttons and stuff working. I was thinking of borrowing from the windows 7 start orb school of animating.

Child sex slaves and stampedes

I would have made a separate post if i wanted to go in depth on this, so i won’t. But i will tell about what happened.

A vegan i follow on twitter tweeted today where he equated child sex slaves with horses dying in stampedes. Before i go on to point out what i said, or at least wanted to have said; i wanted to point out that i know for a fact that i could have put my argument better, and that i probably misspoke more than once. You can check my twitter if you want to see the whole conversation and judge for yourself. I got a little too carried away at times, and fealt that i didn’t get my point across. That being said. Here’s my interpretation (Could be wrong): I told him that the two are too different to be compared, and he told me that they’re “in principle”, the same, because they’re both unnecessary exploitation of animals.
The argument went on, and i eventually told him that it’s basically the same as me equating a toe ache with the pure hurt that someone who just lost his or her leg must feel. I made an example similar to that before making that one, to which he responded that  i was being absurd, “ad-absurdum”. Yes! It is! Of course it’s absurd! What you said is absurd too…

All in all, all i can do is to hope that i got my message across. I mean, i know him as a vegan looks at animals and humans very differently than i do. I hope to one day understand exactly that sort of thinking. Until then, i need to try to keep an open mind about it. Maybe i’m failing at that though, i wouldn’t know.
It is kind of funny that i get accused of not being empathetic and for trivializing suffering, when he just made that statement though.

Blog redesign

If it didn’t cost, i would make the design myself. But i think i found one i’m pretty happy with now.  I for one like it.. Yea.. What else.. I guess that’s it.

Other

A full sunny day for one. Not a single rain drop. If we have it like that tomorrow, i might go down to the fields again. Which should be nice. Oh, and i got so caught up with the programming that i never looked for a flat. But i will do that tomorrow.
I played some Mario 3d land again today, and i’m really starting to get into it, i think. It’s really fun and quite different from any other mario game out there. I recommend checking it  out.

Tomorrow

More programming, probably, and look for some flats. Good times!

Today’s image/video

Numberphile (A great youtube channel), made a fun song involving numbers today:

It’s not too bad actually. I quite enjoyed it.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Get a Grip

Code monkey. Opinionated.

Leave a Reply

Candy Kowal

A person who likes to feel feminine and girly at times!

A Dose of Buckley

Angry humour from an angry man.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

SJWebster.net – Indie Comics, Art & Video Games

Life of a Swedish male to female transsexual. Follow me as i go through my transformation.

Cait

My Island in Me

Life of a Swedish male to female transsexual. Follow me as i go through my transformation.

Ashlee's Blog

Just About Lots Of Things

INTO MIND

personal style, minimalism & the perfect wardrobe

Neutrois Nonsense

an intimate exploration of identity and finding life wisdom beyond the gender binary

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

regan5

Tristen's Gender Journal

Maja Photography

World through the camera lens.

Thunderf00t

Science and Education FTW!

My Darkest Hour

My journey out of darkness and my struggle into light

Clare Flourish

Moving through the world, making myself memorable

Personal Nexus

Travel & Technology

